CTCL's Advisory Committee is made up of some of the most experienced, thoughtful election professionals in the United States. Our advisors generously provide feedback on our professional development programs, helping CTCL ensure that our courses meet the needs of today's election administrators.

Kim A. Barton | Supervisor of Elections | Alachua County (FL)

Kim A. Barton was elected Alachua County Supervisor of Elections in August 2016. In so doing, she became the first African-American elected Alachua County Supervisor of Elections. She is chiefly responsible for administering elections and voter registration in the county which has over 176,000 registered voters.

A graduate of the University of Florida, she came to the Alachua County Supervisor of Elections office in 1993 as its first outreach coordinator. In 2006, she was promoted to director of outreach, a position she served in until her election. Barton is an active member of the Florida State Association of Supervisors and the Election Center, as well as a graduate of The Gainesville Sun's Focus on Leadership Program.

Barton credits her passion for voting and civic engagement to her parents, who were very involved in civil rights era community organizing and participated in get-out-the-vote and voter registration efforts. She takes great pride in the fact that it is her responsibility to serve all Alachua County residents.

Joanna Francescut | Assistant County Clerk/Registrar of Voters | Shasta County (CA)

Joanna Francescut is currently the Assistant County Clerk/Registrar of Voters for Shasta County where she guides staff to accomplish the goals and missions of the Shasta County Clerk. She quickly fell in love with election administration during the 2008 Presidential Elections. Since then, her innovations, critiques, and ideas have become a strong foothold in the practices and procedures of the Shasta County Clerk/Registrar of Voters Department. When she isn’t working, you may find her playing volleyball, eating cookies, or telling stories of the good old days to her three children. 

Ricky Hatch | Clerk/Auditor | Weber County (UT)

Ricky Hatch is the Clerk/Auditor for Weber County, Utah. Before being elected to public office, Ricky worked for 18 years as an accountant in Los Angeles, Europe, and Boston. He’s currently the Election Officials Division Director for the International Association of Government Officials (iGO). Other positions and distinctions include: 

  • 2015 Utah County Clerk of the Year

  • 2013 Utah County Auditor of the Year

  • Chair, Utah Clerk/Auditor Association

  • Constitution Day Committee of Utah

  • Eagle Scout and Scoutmaster

  • Grandpa of two cute granddaughters

Ricky enjoys hiking, racquetball, reading, rock climbing, public speaking, writing, and singing. He served as a Mormon missionary in France, and still speaks French, albeit slowly and with a funny accent. 

Toni Pippins-Poole | Elections Administrator | Dallas County (TX)

Toni Pippins-Poole is the Elections Administrator for Dallas County, which administers elections for 1.2 million registered voters and 44 political subdivisions.

During her more than 20 years in election administration, Toni has participated in Secretary of State of Texas Election Law seminars and has worked with voter awareness programs, FVAP, the FEC, the DOJ, and the EAC. In addition, she’s served on the Election Center HAVA National Advisory Committee, the Texas HAVA Advisory Committee, and the Bipartisan Presidential Commission on Election Administration Advisory Committee.

A graduate of East Texas State University (now known as Texas A&M @ Commerce), Toni holds a number of professional certifications and has been frequently recognized for her years of public service to Dallas County. Outside of work, Toni spends time with her husband, Charles, as well as her children and grandchildren.

Whitney Quesenbery | Co-director | Center for Civic Design

Whitney Quesenbery is co-director for the Center for Civic Design, working to make every interaction with government an easy, effective experience. The Center is the home of the Field Guides to Ensuring Voter Intent and the Anywhere Ballot. Other projects include ElectionTools.org and work on more useful, usable, and accessible voter guides and other election materials with election departments across the country. Whitney and Dana Chisnell teach the first course on Election Design in the Certificate in Election Administration at the University of Minnesota. She has written three books: A Web for Everyone, Global UX, and Storytelling for User Experience.

Rob Rock | Elections Director | Rhode Island Department of State

Rob Rock is the Elections Director for the Rhode Island Department of State. He began working at his current role in 2015. Prior to this position he was Town Administrator for the Town of Richmond, Rhode Island from 2013 to 2015. And from 2005 to 2013 Rob was the Elections Assistant for the Rhode Island Department of State, giving him over a decade of elections experience. 

Tim Tsujii | Director of Elections | Forsyth County Board of Elections (NC)

Tim Tsujii is the Director of Elections for the Forsyth County Board of Elections in North Carolina. He has served as an election official for the past 12 years, previously as the Deputy Director and Early Voting Director for the Guilford County Board of Elections. Tim holds a degree in political science from the George Washington University and Master of Public Affairs from the University of NC at Greensboro. His office was recently presented the Herb Stout award by the NC Center for Geographic Information Analysis (CGIA) for the implementation of a polling place wait time tracking application in the 2016 general election. 

Maurice Turner | Senior Technologist | Center for Democracy & Technology

Maurice Turner is Senior Technologist at the Center for Democracy & Technology, where he focuses on the Election Security and Privacy Project identifying and updating election cybersecurity practices and infrastructure. He most recently served as a TechCongress Congressional Innovation Fellow assigned to the U.S. Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, where he shaped policy and oversaw the preparation of memos, briefings, and hearings on federal IT systems and cybersecurity. He has also played an active role in local elections in CA and VA, holding progressively responsible positions from clerk to lead inspector overseeing multiple precincts. Turner holds an MA in Public Administration from USC, and a Certificate in Cybersecurity Strategy from Georgetown University.

Grace Wachlarowicz | Assistant City Clerk | Director of Elections and Voter Services, City of Minneapolis (MN)

Grace Wachlarowicz (“walk-la-rō-its”) is the Assistant City Clerk, Director of Elections and Voter Services for the City of Minneapolis. She received her B. A. in Business Administration and CERA through the Election Center. Grace began her career in elections in 1993 administering all facets of the municipal, school district, state, and federal elections. Since 2012, Grace has overseen all facets of election administration for the City of Minneapolis, including the Minneapolis School District, the third largest electoral jurisdiction in Minnesota, with 240,000 registered voters.

Grace's true passion is public service in election administration. She is active in the Election Center with program development, while she’s also a member of the Joint Election Officials Liaison Committee and the League of Minnesota Cities. In addition, she’s served on the Minnesota State Legislature’s task force for Elections Emergency Planning, Electronic Roster, and Election Integrity.